My Inspiration: Revelation 3:20

I opened my eyes, blinking in confusion. How long had I been sleeping? I wondered. It felt like it’d been– forever.

My eyes wandered around the room, but there really wasn’t much to see. In fact there was almost nothing to see. The room was pitch black, a blackness that only seemed to get thicker the more I tried to peer through it. But there was one exception. Small streams of light were poking through the cracks in a door at the far end of the room.

Funny, I didn’t remember a door being there before. I didn’t remember really much of anything before I’d fallen asleep– only my room that continued to grow darker and darker. I’d fallen asleep to dream of more darkness, and really I hadn’t expected to wake up again. If I’d ever really been awake ever in my life, that is.

Speaking of which, what had woken me now? Nothing here would have made a noise that I could tell. It hadn’t for the longest time. So what had changed?

The door, I thought.

Just then I heard it, and I jumped, startled. It was a knocking at the door. For some reason I felt fear fill me. Who could that be? What did they want? Whoever they were, they were where the light was coming from, and I didn’t really want my room or myself to get exposed by it. But still the person knocked. It wasn’t a hard, angry knock. Nor was it a timid knock. It was the knocking you’d expect a friend to make who knew you were inside and wanted to be there for you, comfort you, talk to you.

But I had no friends. Who could it possibly be? I considered just falling back asleep, but curiosity was soon overcoming my complacency and my fears. Perhaps I would just open the door a crack, see who it was, and then just ask them to go away. Besides, my room wasn’t really in any state to be entertaining guests.

I stood up, moved my foot, and instantly tripped over something. I crashed to the floor, getting a mouthful of dust. I coughed and spluttered, my arms and legs stinging from making contact with objects on the floor. I really had been sleeping a long time. I had no idea what was in my room anymore and there had to be piles of dust everywhere. I wasn’t going to get to the door without bringing danger to myself. I should just try to return to bed. It was safer there.

“Do not give up, Violet.”

I started. The voice had come from the door– a gentle, beautiful voice. And somehow he knew what I’d been thinking. “How do you know me?” I asked.

“I was there at the beginning,” he said simply. “Please, come to the door.”

“But I’ll get hurt,” I said.

“I will guide your feet. First, stand up.”

How is he going to guide my feet? I can’t see anything and he isn’t even in here, I thought. But I decided to try. I had a growing desire to see this man. I stood up.

“Good. Now, turn left and take three steps.”

I turned and walked three steps, convinced I was going to trip again, but I didn’t. He continued to direct me, the path weaving this way and that, but I never once stumbled. Finally I made it to the door. I felt for the door handle. I hesitated. “I’ve never been exposed to a lot of light,” I said, trembling. “Can you make it go away?”

“Violet, if the light goes away, I go with it. Trust me, when all things are made clear then you will know the joy of the truth.”

I didn’t understand. I closed my eyes and pulled open the door.

It didn’t matter that my eyes were closed, I could see everything perfectly. My shivering, frail, pale body sunk to the ground in fear. The man standing before me wasn’t surrounded with light– he was the light. His hair was white as wool, his eyes burning with fire, his robe tied with a golden sash. The brightness of him drove all the darkness away to reveal the dirtiness of my room, and I felt ashamed.

He reached down and touched me. I flinched, but his hand was gentle and kind. In his palm was a strange, round wound. He spoke again to me in his beautiful voice. “Do not fear, my child. I have come to make all things new.”

He lifted me up from the ground, wrapping a protective arm around my shoulders. For the first time I felt like I was safe, like I was in the presence of a good man, a friend. I trusted him. “Open your eyes,” he said softly.

I did so. My dirty place of abode had been transformed into a room fit for a princess, full of gold and jewels. I looked down at myself. I had been clothed in a beautiful dress. “I don’t deserve any of this,” I said.

“You deserve it,” he said, “because I love you. Now, let us sit and eat together.”

There was a table in the room, filled with a variety of food. All I wanted to do was sit with him, eat with him, and talk with him for all eternity.

And that is what we did.

“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.” ~Revelation 3:20

“But everything exposed by the light becomes visible, for it is light that makes everything visible. That is why it is said: ‘Wake up, O sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” ~Ephesians 5:14

“Since then you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.” ~ Colossians 3:1-5

Leave a Reply

