My Faith

Is my faith
As pure as
Refined gold?
Did it come to me
Perfect and clean?
Can I stand here
With nothing to fear
Not even a
Pinprick of pain?

Before I stood
Before the throne
I was an ugly sinner
But standing there
Jesus rolled away the stone
He clothed me in prayer
His prayer
In the throne room now
I stand with Him
I am clean and pure
And righteous
For God sees Christ
On me

But I’m still a sinner
Still wandering the earth
I still falter
I still have so much to learn
And when pain comes
In whatever form
How could I ever say
“Lord, I thought You were good!”?
He is good
He is good

Am I willing to realize
I’m not perfect?
Won’t be until He returns
Am I willing to be refined
No matter the circumstances
No matter the pain?
I know Jesus promised suffering
But I don’t want it for me
I’ll believe anything else He says
Just let me lead
A painless life

Thank God
He loves me too much
To let me stay unsanctified
He will wash me clean
He will continue to make me
A new creation
I am a new creation
The work He began in me
He will bring to completion
I am a new creation
A new creation
Refine my faith
O LORD
Make me a new creation

“3Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you, 5who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. 6In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. 7These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. 8Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, 9for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.” ~ 1 Peter 1

“16So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. 17Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come:a The old has gone, the new is here! 18All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: 19that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. 20We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. 21God made him who had no sin to be sinb for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” ~2 Corinthians 5

Leave a Reply

