My Rollercoaster Ride

My heart
Thump, thump, thumping
In my chest
Panic swirling sickly
In my gut
I didn’t want to move forward
I didn’t want to sit down
But I was surrounded
Urged forward
By people close to me
So I moved forward
I sat down
And I waited

It is good sometimes
To try something new
It is good all the time
To do what you have to do
It is good to have support
To be encouraged and strengthened
By your fellow man
But after they’ve been tested in their words
Live what you know to be right

The bar fell down
Onto my lap
I was trapped inside
Then forward I was forced to move
Forward
Fast, fast, faster still
Dragged upward
Dragged outward
And then made to sickeningly drop
Downward at a pace
Unnatural to mankind
I clenched my eyes and screamed
What else could I do?
I prayed to the Lord
“Please God, let it be no more!”

Sometimes fear
It is something to be ignored
To not take control of decisions
Or of living life
Sometimes there is little choice
But to move on through the storm
But you are never helpless
Just pray, pray, pray
To the LORD

He got me through to the end
I was so glad to be on
Hard, cold, real,
Solid ground once more
If I’d gotten the notion
I would have gladly
Kissed the ground beneath my feet
I’ll never ride it again
No matter what the expectations are
~
Romans 15
1We who are strong ought to bear with the failings of the weak and not to please ourselves. 2Each of us should please our neighbors for their good, to build them up. 3For even Christ did not please himself but, as it is written: “The insults of those who insult you have fallen on me.” 4For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope.
5May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had, 6so that with one mind and one voice you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.
~
Hebrews 13:5-6
Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”
~
Psalm 26:12
My feet stand on level ground;
in the great congregation I will praise the Lord.

Leave a Reply

