My Dragon

The dragon’s eye
Looked deep into mine
A heart of gold
I saw there
Mountains of riches
And spirit of fire
A creature of glory
Warrior of valor

I stared deep
Into his eyes
I saw a land
Worth dying for
I long to be there
To dance in the beauty
But I know
I am so unworthy
So unholy

The dragon’s eye
Stared deep into mine
I fear to think
What he saw there
Darkness within
And a barren wasteland
Filled with the cravings
Of a fool
Filled with the excuses of a coward
So unworthy
So unholy
Not worth dying for

His mouth opened wide
He breathed in deep
I knew my just judgment
Was upon me
Somehow to die
By such a being
Was an honor in and of itself
Though I was going to die
For all the wickedness I’d committed
I knew I deserved
The fire

He blew out a breath
Of hot steam
That fell on me
In rainbows
And my eyes were opened
And I saw again
In his glorious eyes
The land of glory
But this time
I saw the true treasure
I saw the King
My eyes have seen
The King
Clothed in rainbows
A living fire within
His pierced hands
Of mercy
His lips of truth
His eyes of forgiveness
And His mighty strength
His goodness
Holiness
His justice
And unfailing love

He beckoned with a
Royal hand
“Come,” He said
“To the Promised Land
I have given you My Spirit
A Spirit of fire
And valor
With these pierced hands
Of mercy
I’ve pierced your sins
With these lips of truth
I have made it known
With My eyes of forgiveness
I’ve looked on you
My child
My worthy child
My holy child
I’ve given you Me
I’ve given you peace.”

And so
With a bow of my head,
I turn from myself
And enter the world again
Always to worship in the
Cave of the Blessed One
I go to the world
Proclaim the Good News
With the strength He’s given
Strength of a thousand dragons
With this vision always before me:
A land of beauty
Of peace
Of glory
And thanksgiving
And the daily bending of the knee
And casting down our golden crowns
And filling our holy mouths
With praises
To our King
Whom we approach with confidence
And with boldness
And truth
To see Him fully and completely
For all eternity

“And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I lam making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” 6 And he said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give from the spring of the water of life without payment. 7 The one who conquers will have this heritage, and I will be his God and she will be my son. 8 But as for the cowardly, the faithless, the detestable, as for murderers, the sexually immoral, sorcerers, idolaters, and all liars, their portion will be in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur, which is the second death.” ~Revelation 21

“For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, 7 for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” ~2 Timothy 1

“And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”” ~Matthew 28

“And the four living creatures, each of them with six wings, are full of eyes all around and within, and day and night they never cease to say,

“Holy, holy, holy, is the Lord God Almighty,
who was and is and is to come!”

9 And whenever the living creatures give glory and honor and thanks to him who is seated on the throne, who lives forever and ever, 10 the twenty-four elders fall down before him who is seated on the throne and worship him who lives forever and ever. They cast their crowns before the throne, saying,

11 “Worthy are you, our Lord and God,
to receive glory and honor and power,
for you created all things,
and by your will they existed and were created.” ~Revelation 4

Leave a Reply

