Mighty to Save

“9You rule over the surging sea;
when its waves mount up, you still them.

10You crushed Rahab like one of the slain;
with your strong arm you scattered your enemies.

11The heavens are yours, and yours also the earth;
you founded the world and all that is in it.

12You created the north and the south;
Tabor and Hermon sing for joy at your name.

13Your arm is endowed with power;
your hand is strong, your right hand exalted.” ~Psalm 89

These waves
Crash around me
And I cry out
Out in terror
And the darkness
Clothes my eyes
And I scream out
Out in fear
Oh, Lord God
Why are You sleeping?
Can’t You see
I am dying?

And You
Stand up
And You
Rebuke the sea
And You
Command the waves
The storm
Never was

I am
Assailed on
Every side
Enemies raging
Death or
Slavery are only
My options now
And I cry out
Out in despair
I cry out
Out in desperation
O, Lord God
I am in misery
Why won’t You
Come save me?

And You
Lifted up Your hand
And You
Sent them scattering
And You
Crushed them down flat
The enemy
Never was

Oh, You are
My God
I am overcome
Oh, You are
The earth’s Lord
I am overcome
With joy
I’ll sing with
Your creation–
What on earth
Is not Yours?
I will sing for joy
With the North
The South
I will sing for joy
With the stars
And the clouds
I will sing for joy
With ravines
And tall mountains
I sing for joy
In Your presence

And You
Are mighty to save
And You
Are exalted over the earth
And You
Are King over all
And You
Always are

~

“23Then he got into the boat and his disciples followed him. 24Suddenly a furious storm came up on the lake, so that the waves swept over the boat. But Jesus was sleeping. 25The disciples went and woke him, saying, “Lord, save us! We’re going to drown!”

26He replied, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the waves, and it was completely calm.” ~Matthew 8

“20And Joshua set up at Gilgal the twelve stones they had taken out of the Jordan. 21He said to the Israelites, “In the future when your descendants ask their parents, ‘What do these stones mean?’ 22tell them, ‘Israel crossed the Jordan on dry ground.’ 23For the Lord your God dried up the Jordan before you until you had crossed over. The Lord your God did to the Jordan what he had done to the Red Sea when he dried it up before us until we had crossed over. 24He did this so that all the peoples of the earth might know that the hand of the Lord is powerful and so that you might always fear the Lord your God.” ~Joshua 4

Leave a Reply

