God’s Plan of Salvation

8“Now then, tell my servant David, ‘This is what the Lord Almighty says: I took you from the pasture, from tending the flock, and appointed you ruler over my people Israel. 9I have been with you wherever you have gone, and I have cut off all your enemies from before you. Now I will make your name great, like the names of the greatest men on earth. 10And I will provide a place for my people Israel and will plant them so that they can have a home of their own and no longer be disturbed. Wicked people will not oppress them anymore, as they did at the beginning 11and have done ever since the time I appointed leaders over my people Israel. I will also give you rest from all your enemies.

“ ‘The Lord declares to you that the Lord himself will establish a house for you: 12When your days are over and you rest with your ancestors, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, your own flesh and blood, and I will establish his kingdom. 13He is the one who will build a house for my Name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. 14I will be his father, and he will be my son. When he does wrong, I will punish him with a rod wielded by men, with floggings inflicted by human hands. 15But my love will never be taken away from him, as I took it away from Saul, whom I removed from before you. 16Your house and your kingdom will endure forever before me; your throne will be established forever.’” ~2 Samuel 7

Righteousness and justice
You rest upon Your throne
Lovingness and faithfulness
Go before You like a chariot

The LORD
He is gracious
The LORD
He is magnificent
He laid the foundations of the earth
And created all things in wisdom
The LORD
He planned the perfect path of redemption
For us whom He loves
He planned it
And He brought it about

The people of Israel
They wanted a king
They rejected the Lord as their leader
So He gave them what they wanted
A king like the other nations
Gave to them Saul
But Saul God rejected
And David He chose
Out of the pastures

The LORD was with David
Even as he was attacked on every side
First by Saul
Then by enemies
And then by family
But the LORD delivered him from all trouble
And forgave him when he sinned
And it was through David
God worked out a plan
Of salvation
He made to David a great promise
A promise of an eternal kingdom
David’s line would never be destroyed
And one would come who would be eternal

Although David’s line was faithless
God remained faithful
And Jesus came from David’s line
Just as God promised
Jesus brought the ultimate salvation
He saved us from the bondage of sin
And even when we are faithless
He remains faithful
When we sin
He will discipline us,
For He disciplines those He loves,
But no matter what we do
He will not stop loving us
For He is perfect in promises
Perfect in His plan of salvation
The LORD is good
All the time

Righteousness and justice
You rest upon Your throne
Lovingness and faithfulness
Go before You like a chariot

~

“19Once you spoke in a vision,
to your faithful people you said:
‘I have bestowed strength on a warrior;
I have raised up a young man from among the people.
20I have found David my servant;
with my sacred oil I have anointed him.
21My hand will sustain him;
surely my arm will strengthen him.
22The enemy will not get the better of him;
the wicked will not oppress him.
23I will crush his foes before him
and strike down his adversaries.
24My faithful love will be with him,
and through my name his hornf will be exalted.
25I will set his hand over the sea,
his right hand over the rivers.
26He will call out to me, ‘You are my Father,
my God, the Rock my Savior.’
27And I will appoint him to be my firstborn,
the most exalted of the kings of the earth.
28I will maintain my love to him forever,
and my covenant with him will never fail.
29I will establish his line forever,
his throne as long as the heavens endure.

30“If his sons forsake my law
and do not follow my statutes,
31if they violate my decrees
and fail to keep my commands,
32I will punish their sin with the rod,
their iniquity with flogging;
33but I will not take my love from him,
nor will I ever betray my faithfulness.
34I will not violate my covenant
or alter what my lips have uttered.
35Once for all, I have sworn by my holiness—
and I will not lie to David—
36that his line will continue forever
and his throne endure before me like the sun;
37it will be established forever like the moon,
the faithful witness in the sky.'”

~Psalm 89

Leave a Reply

