Work, Remember, Rest

I would love to hear from you in the comment section below.  Also, if you want to help me with inspiration for my next post, please email me (provided in the Connect page).  Thank you!

12“‘Observe the Sabbath day, to keep it holy, as the Lord your God commanded you. 13Six days you shall labor and do all your work, 14but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, you or your son or your daughter or your male servant or your female servant, or your ox or your donkey or any of your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates, that your male servant and your female servant may rest as well as you. 15You shall remember that you were a slavec in the land of Egypt, and the Lord your God brought you out from there with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm. Therefore the Lord your God commanded you to keep the Sabbath day.’ ~Deuteronomy 5

I remember it

The day I was saved

When I looked with my eyes

And saw You there

When I heard with my ears

And it all made sense

I saw my sin

And I recanted my wicked ways

You called me out

Of a foreign land

And saved me

From shame

.

And for that I praise You

For that I have set apart a day

To remember You

And rest

To remember You

On this special day

To praise You

.

But what if I do not labor

Six days of the week?

From what am I resting from?

You say it in Your commandment

‘Six days you shall labor’

And do I sin if I do not?

If I rest more than I work?

Oh, Lord God, I want to labor

But my heart is lazy within me

And I have so very little motivation

So little to work towards

.

But for me You died

And for that I praise You

For that I long to

Set apart a day

To remember You

To work six days

And rest

To remember You

On this special day

To praise You

.

I asked and I pleaded

I didn’t know how to break

Free of this bubble

Excuses filled my mind

“I’m too shy”

“I’ve done nothing”

“I’m good at nothing”

“Why aren’t You sending me?”

But I prayed and waited

Once I stepped out

But nothing happened

I prayed and waited

And again I stepped out

And I waited

.

And You have granted it to me

A job in my hands

Lord I am so thankful!

Lord, I want to do the best I can!

Lord, I know I can do nothing apart from You

Please lead me on

With Your hand

Thank You Lord for work

That I may please You all the more

And

.

For me You died

And for that I praise You

For that I have set apart a day

To remember You

And rest

To remember You

On this special day

To praise You

~

22Bondservants,f obey in everything those who are your earthly masters,g not by way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord. 23Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, 24knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ. 25For the wrongdoer will be paid back for the wrong he has done, and there is no partiality.” ~Colossians 3

Leave a Reply

