Food For Thought: Obedience and Love

9“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. 12My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.” ~John 15

This subject might seem a little random, especially after the beginning passage, but I promise it ties in 🙂

Cats by nature are independent. They like to do their own thing in their own time. People usually think of cats as grumpy animals that hate the world, bu I’ve actually seen more loveable cats than I have hateful ones. But even the loveable cats are independent and think about whether or not they want to do whatever it is their owners want them to do. Said another way, cats are naturally selfish in varying degrees.

Today, my cat Rocky, who loves to be upstairs, wanted to go up with me. I didn’t want to because I was planning on coming down again, but he really wanted to. so I let him. I pet him a little but concentrated mainly on what I was doing. When it came time to go back down, I asked him to follow me. To my surprise he did! It made me think of a dog that faithfully follows its owners wherever they go, even if it likes a particular area. It reinforced to me that Rocky loves me.

Later, that got me thinking. Recently in bible study we talked about John 15 where Jesus says that we show we are in Him when we obey Him. That’s not to say His love is conditional but that we prove to whom we belong y our actions.

Compare that to my rocky story. We humans are naturally selfish, just like cats. We are independent, we want to do what we want in our own time and only obey God if we feel like it. But God loves us despite that. And so it reinforces the fact that we love Him and are loyal to Him when we follow Him, even if we prefer to stay in the place where we’re at.

That’s the kind of cat I want to be.

.

“And shall I pray Thee change Thy will my Father,

Until it be according unto mine?

But no, Lord, no, that never shall be, rather

I pray Thee blend my human will with Thine.” ~Amy Carmichael

Leave a Reply

