My Anxiety, God’s Response

31So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” ~Matthew 6

I wish I could say

I woke up this fine day

Refreshed and happy

Full of peace and hope

I wish I could say

That joy was overflowing

And life looked even better

Than it did before

.

Yes, I wish I could say it

But I can’t really fake it

I’m surprised to have

Woken up at all

All the day before

I worried it away

And I dreamed of death

All night long

So here I am today

Worrying it away

Until there is hardly

Any of it left

.

I know I ought not worry

But still anxiety

Keeps me in constant suspense

How will I break off these chains?

How can I turn away

From these worryings?

I just want to have a happy life

I want it to be perfect

But what if it is miserable instead?

.

Turn to the Word

You said

So I looked in the Word

I will provide

You said

But what must I do? I asked

Seek after Me first

Seek after My glory

But how can I seek after You? I asked

.

Trust in Me with all your heart

I will make your path straight

Fear of Me is the beginning of wisdom

Fear Me and you will be pleasing to me

Fear Me and all will be well with you

Love Me with all you have

Rejoice in Me your strength

Speak to Me, ask of Me, remember all I have done for you

Then My peace will wipe away your anxiety

And I will guard all you have in My Son

Think on Me and all that is pure

Listen to My Word and put it to practice

Then I will be in you

Your joy will be complete

.

The journey is long

And the road is hard

I am guaranteed nothing

Except God is with me

And His will be done

But this I know

I am safe in His arms

For He has promised

And I will be reunited with Him

In glory

.

4Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

8Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 9Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.” ~Philippians 4

1Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. 2Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. 3For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. 4When Christ, who is youra life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.” ~Colossians 3

Other references:

Deuteronomy 5:28-29, 6:5-6, 24-25

Proverbs 3:5-6, 9:10

John 15:9-11

Leave a Reply

