Food For Thought: His Light Leads

2I will go before you and will level the mountainsa ; I will break down gates of bronze and cut through bars of iron.  3I will give you hidden treasures, riches stored in secret places, so that you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, who summons you by name.” ~Isaiah 45

I was driving home this past week.  I was very familiar with the road, how it wound around.  The sky was full of clouds with patches of blue poking through sporadically.  I was singing away as the cd in the car played, and all of a sudden I noticed it: the light.  On the ground a ray of light was spreading, making my path fill with light before I reached it instead of grey.  I felt a thrill of happiness and thought to myself, “God is going before me.”

I recently got a job for the first time– just last week, actually.  I have always taken big steps rather slowly.  I didn’t go to college after high school and opted to stay home.  I’ve been at home for the past four years.  I didn’t get my driver’s license until last year because I was so nervous of taking the test.  And then I knew that God wanted me to find a job.  I wasn’t glorifying Him by staying home all day, it was much too easy to be lazy all the time.  But I was scared.  I was afraid of taking that next step.

The first time I went out to apply, I didn’t get anything, but it bolstered my confidence a little.  Then a month ago I saw that a place was hiring.  I decided to just apply.  For some reason, I kept thinking, “God, if I were to choose, I would choose this place.  But it’s up to You.”  I didn’t hear anything for weeks and thought I’d been passed over once again.

Weeks later they called me.  They wanted an interview.  My first interview!  I was so nervous.  I’d go between praying for God to help me and feeling confident to worrying if I had the answers they wanted and if I had the right clothes for an interview.  The day came and it went not at all how I expected.  It was less of an interview and more of a test.  I did my best, left, and then worried that maybe I had done the test wrong.  I shared this with my mom and she reminded me, “All you can do is your best.  It’s up to God whether or not you’ll get the job anyway.”  What God opens no one can shut, and what He shuts no one can open.

I was in shock when I got the call that I’d been hired.  Then euphoria filled me and I was giddy the rest of the day.  And I knew, it was only by God’s grace, only His provision, that had given this to me.  It was nothing in me, only Him.  And now I had been given new responsibility.  I had taken the next step.

That’s what I thought of as I watched the light go before me.  There were patches where there was only grey, but the light of the sun always returned to guide me, to reassure me that it was still there.  And that’s how God is.  He goes before us.  There may be a time when we cannot see Him, but He’s still there and will be seen again.  He is active in our lives and is preparing the path for us and preparing us for the path of His choosing.  So,

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.” ~Proverbs 3:5-6

Have a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

