Honor the Lord

6“I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery… 11“You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name.” ~ Deuteronomy 5

Out of slavery

You came out of darkness

You cried out and I

The LORD your God

Heard and answered you

I saved you

.

Who in heaven

Or on the earth

Is like the Living God?

The Egyptian gods

Could not stop My power

And you followed Me

Out of the dark land

.

Why do you despise Me now

My dear children?

Why curse with My Holy Name?

You treat as worthless

That which formed you

You trample in the dirt

That which had compassion

On you

You do this by falsely worshipping Me

You do this by not surrendering to Me

.

Am I

The Holy One

Worthless?

Am I

The Eternal One

Useless?

Was it I who tempted you

In the garden of Eden?

Was it I who lied to you

With forked tongue?

Was I unjust to be wrathful

Destroying the earth in a flood?

Was I cruel

When I let Noah live?

When he saw the rainbow in the sky

Did he curse My Name?

Did he hear My voice

And shrug his shoulders?

.

At My voice the earth was formed

At My Name

The nations tremble

When I say “I AM”

Armed men fall down and tremble

What I say will come to pass

And no one can change it

I have mercy on whom I have mercy

And justice on those I have justice

Who can make Me worthless

Who is not themselves meaningless?

.

I will judge the one

Who curses My Name

I will make desolate

The one who tramples Me in the mud

.

But for the sake of My Name

I have chosen some to glorify Me

They will know Me

And honor Me

And I will lead them on to Life

My Name provides all you need

My Name is the way to righteousness

Cling to Me

There is nothing left to fear

Only be holy

As I AM

~

3So Judas came to the garden, guiding a detachment of soldiers and some officials from the chief priests and the Pharisees. They were carrying torches, lanterns and weapons.  4Jesus, knowing all that was going to happen to him, went out and asked them, “Who is it you want?”  5“Jesus of Nazareth,” they replied.  “I am he,” Jesus said. (And Judas the traitor was standing there with them.) 6When Jesus said, “I am he,” they drew back and fell to the ground.” ~John 18

.

1The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.  2He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, 3he refreshes my soul.  He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.  4Even though I walk through the darkest valley,a I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” ~Psalm 23

.

6“A son honors his father, and a slave his master. If I am a father, where is the honor due me? If I am a master, where is the respect due me?” says the Lord Almighty.  “It is you priests who show contempt for my name.

“But you ask, ‘How have we shown contempt for your name?’

7“By offering defiled food on my altar.

“But you ask, ‘How have we defiled you?’

“By saying that the Lord’s table is contemptible. 8When you offer blind animals for sacrifice, is that not wrong? When you sacrifice lame or diseased animals, is that not wrong? Try offering them to your governor! Would he be pleased with you? Would he accept you?” says the Lord Almighty.  9“Now plead with God to be gracious to us. With such offerings from your hands, will he accept you?”—says the Lord Almighty.” ~Malachi 1

Leave a Reply

