Food For Thought: Praise the LORD

1Praise the Lord.a  Praise the Lord, you his servants; praise the name of the Lord2Let the name of the Lord be praised, both now and forevermore.  3From the rising of the sun to the place where it sets, the name of the Lord is to be praised.”  ~Psalm 113

This week, I didn’t really feel like praising God.  I was tired from work and several times felt to be in a bad mood.  After snapping at my sister, I felt guilty, and I started wondering, ‘Why am I like this?’  Sure, I could use the excuse of being tired, but that really meant nothing.  In all actuality being tired was partially my fault because I was staying up too late, even though I knew I hadn’t been sleeping well.  So why was I so grumpy?  Was it really just lack of sleep?

No, it wasn’t.  Because the other thing I’d been neglecting was real bible reading and true prayer.  I’d been avoiding real intimate time with God, and therefore I wasn’t being fed the way I should.  So I read the bible.

The first passage I read was Psalm 112.  In the very first verse it says, “1Praise the Lord.b  Blessed are those who fear the Lord, who find great delight in his commands.”  It says that we are blessed who take delight in the Word of the LORD.  And the rest of psalm talks of the benefits of following and trusting in Him.  I was encouraged that I can indeed follow Him.

The next day I read Revelation 5.  This day I grew especially excited.  This is the chapter where an angel asks if there is anyone who can open the scroll, but no one is found who can.  John weeps because of this, but then he is told that the lion of Judah is here who can open the scroll.  So he looks and there is a lamb who was slain who is worthy to open the scroll.  And then the rest of the chapter is of everyone singing praises to Him.

Now I’ve read this chapter before, but this time something new jumped out at me.  It was the progression of worship.  The first to sing are the four living creatures and the elders, and we’re told that they sing a new song.  The song begins like this: “You are worthy to take the scroll and to open its seals, because you were slain,”.  Suddenly, a huge crowd of angels appears.  It’s like they heard the song and grew excited by it, because they sing a song of their own that echoes the first.  It goes like this: “Worthy is the Lamb, who was slain, to receive power and wealth and wisdom and strength and honor and glory and praise!” And then we are told that all the creatures on earth sing, excited by the song of the angels.  “To him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be praise and honor and glory and power, for ever and ever!”  And this final song causes the four living creature to say “Amen!” and the elders to fall down and worship.

Can you sense it?  The excitement, the worship?  Can you see how one song was bounced around, causing more and more to lift their voices in praise to God?  I can, and it fills my heart with joy.  I want to be among those who praise Him forever from no matter where I happen to be, as the passage in Psalm 113 says.

Will you join me and all of creation?

Leave a Reply

