Food for Thought: Commit to the Word

8Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” ~ 1 Corinthians 13

Have you ever felt like you’ve read a book of the Bible so many times it has become meaningless to you?  That usually happens to me when my pastor goes through a book of the bible.  I love when he preaches and the insights I get, but it takes me a while to read the book for myself after he’s done with it.  It almost feels like the book has been wrung out so much that it loses any mystery or significance I know that it still has.  It feels like I don’t care about it anymore.  And that has always upset me a little bit.

My boyfriend and I have been reading books of the bible for a week and then meeting together to discuss them.  This past Monday he suggested 1 Timothy, which is the book Pastor is going through right now.  I felt my heart sink within me when he said it because I really didn’t want to read it.  But I agreed because I despise the thought of not wanting to read any book of the bible just because ‘I don’t feel like it’.  Because of that I’ve been having a hard time reading my bible this week.  Many days I just want to skip it, but I force myself to do it anyway.  And that brings e to something I’ve thought about often: commitment to the Word.

All the time I hear from other people that they haven’t been reading the bible.  Either they ‘don’t get anything out of it’ or they just don’t feel like doing it.  And I understand.  Feelings are fickle.  One day you feel like you could run a marathon and then the next day you feel so low all you want to do is stay in bed all day.  And, as I’ve said, I understand feeling like you’re not getting anything out of the Word.  But I also know that these things should not get in the way of my daily diving into the Word of God.

In our passage above, Paul says that there was a time when he thought and acted like a child because he was a child.  When he grew up he put those ways behind him.  What are characteristics of childishness?  Doing what I feel like, being impatient, being lazy.  When I became an adult I learned responsibility, doing things despite what I felt, being patient, and that work is good.  These are the same things we need to have when approaching God and His Word.  And why should we do them?  Why should we care what God says?  What if we can’t understand?  Well, should we just give up?  No, and why not?  Because we love God.  Love of God endures.  We can have faith that He exists and that He saved us, and that’s important.  We can have hope that He will help us and will return for us again and that’s VERY important too.  But what is the most important thing we could and should have?  Love for our Savior, just as He loves us.  And that means reading His Word despite what we feel.

And He tells us what love is:

4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” ~1 Corinthians 13

Persevere in your love for Christ this weekend!

Leave a Reply

