Food for Thought: Be in the Word

14But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it, 15and how from infancy you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. 16All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17so that the servant of Goda may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”           ~2 Timothy 3

I was getting ready for a trip this weekend, packing and making sure the house is ready for some guests.  I basically started when I got up this morning.  In the back of my mind, I kept thinking: You need to read your bible.  But then I saw the list of all the things that needed to be done and I honestly thought I wouldn’t have time.

Then some down time was offered, and I decided to take it.  I read from 2 Timothy chapter three.  At the first part of the chapter, Paul is warning Timothy that a time is coming when people will be lovers of pleasure and money rather than God and lack self control and be disobedient to their parents.  And although they learn about God they can’t seem to really understand.  I couldn’t help but think of our times and even of myself.  I feel sometimes that I love pleasure rather than God.  I’d rather turn to a game for hours on end than open my mouth in prayer to Him when I feel down.  And society around us seems to be getting more and more selfish, less and less able to grasp the truth of the Word.  He urges Timothy to not have anything to do with these people, yet I don’t think we as a church are taking that advice.  Not that we have to cut ourselves off from them or hate them, but that we ought not to conform to their ways.  And I have a feeling we are, myself included.

Then, in the passage above, Paul reminds Timothy to keep on learning about the truth.  He says that Timothy knows that what he has already learned is reliable because of the people he learned it from and that he has the advantage of having been learning since his infancy.  He reminds Timothy what exactly the Scripture is for: make one wise as to the road of salvation, namely Jesus Christ; training, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness.  Many times when I hear the latter list, I think of them as in I’m using the Word to help others.  I am training someone, rebuking someone, and so forth.  But while it can be used to help others, it is also supposed to be applied to oneself.  God is the one the Word finds its source, and He wants to conform us to the image of His Son.  And part of being conformed is being washed daily in His Word, letting it shape us into the person God wants us to be, for we are cannot be complete if left to ourselves.

So wash yourself in the Word this weekend, no matter your schedules.  It is always worth it.  God is worth it.

1We who are strong ought to bear with the failings of the weak and not to please ourselves. 2Each of us should please our neighbors for their good, to build them up. 3For even Christ did not please himself but, as it is written: “The insults of those who insult you have fallen on me.”a 4For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope.  5May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had, 6so that with one mind and one voice you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.” ~Romans 15

Leave a Reply

