Food For Thought: Maturity

“When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways.  For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” ~1 Corinthians 13:11-12

Something that I’ve been realizing about myself is that I assume things.  I assume things will just happen without putting any real effort into it.  I noticed it first when I graduated high school.  I decided not to pursue college and thought that since I’d have all the time in the world I’d be able to spend half of every day in studying the Word and the other half in writing my book and poetry.  Well, when I was left alone at home, it didn’t happen.  I found that I only wanted to be lazy, playing games and watching movies, and as a result I became very depressed and lonely.  I had just assumed I would automatically do the ‘right’ thing, but in reality I only gave into lazy desires.

Then again more recently, when I got hired for my first job, I knew that I had some bad habits, playing games too much.  But I assumed that since I would be working nights, I would have less time to be lazy and focus my energies more on what mattered.  But what actually happened was that I would stay up even later to make time for my games, I would focus my energy on what didn’t matter because I was ‘tired’.

In the verse above, Paul says that when he was a child he thought and acted like a child.  When he became a man he put away the childish things from him.  From that one verse it sounds so easy, like just throwing off old clothes that don’t fit anymore into a trash bin.  But growing up really isn’t that easy.  It is a long and painful process.  It should never be just assumed to happen.

And that is the same with spiritual maturity.  We shouldn’t just assume that as we get older we will automatically get closer and closer to God.  Just because we go to church, we shouldn’t assume we know God or that we are being fed enough.  As the verse above says, now we know in part but there will be a time when we will understand fully.  That isn’t to say that we shouldn’t try to understand fully, even now, God.  But it also means that I can’t assume that I ever do know God fully now.  We need to be grown ups in faith, in knowledge.

11We have much to say about this, but it is hard to make it clear to you because you no longer try to understand. 12In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again. You need milk, not solid food! 13Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness. 14But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil.” ~Hebrews 5

19Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I rejoice because of you; but I want you to be wise about what is good, and innocent about what is evil.” ~Romans 16

Have a blessed weekend and yearn for the solid food of life and the knowledge of God.

Leave a Reply

