The Place of Freedom

10Elisha sent a messenger to say to him, “Go, wash yourself seven times in the Jordan, and your flesh will be restored and you will be cleansed.”

11But Naaman went away angry and said, “I thought that he would surely come out to me and stand and call on the name of the Lord his God, wave his hand over the spot and cure me of my leprosy. 12Are not Abana and Pharpar, the rivers of Damascus, better than all the waters of Israel? Couldn’t I wash in them and be cleansed?” So he turned and went off in a rage.

13Naaman’s servants went to him and said, “My father, if the prophet had told you to do some great thing, would you not have done it? How much more, then, when he tells you, ‘Wash and be cleansed’!” 14So he went down and dipped himself in the Jordan seven times, as the man of God had told him, and his flesh was restored and became clean like that of a young boy.

15Then Naaman and all his attendants went back to the man of God. He stood before him and said, “Now I know that there is no God in all the world except in Israel. So please accept a gift from your servant.”

16The prophet answered, “As surely as the Lord lives, whom I serve, I will not accept a thing.” And even though Naaman urged him, he refused.

17“If you will not,” said Naaman, “please let me, your servant, be given as much earth as a pair of mules can carry, for your servant will never again make burnt offerings and sacrifices to any other god but the Lord. 18But may the Lord forgive your servant for this one thing: When my master enters the temple of Rimmon to bow down and he is leaning on my arm and I have to bow there also—when I bow down in the temple of Rimmon, may the Lord forgive your servant for this.”

19“Go in peace,” Elisha said. ~2 Kings 5

~

I was a prisoner

To unfeeling flesh

Locked in my home

Estranged from those I love

I wish I could feel again

Break free

.

My slave spoke to me

About a cure

About a prophet

Who can do the impossible

.

I sought a miracle

One with a spirit buzz

Make me float on air

The Heavens open

Thunder roars

And I’m healed of prison

In one uncommitted moment

I sought that miracle

And I hoped this promised land

Could give it

.

I went to Israel

The King accused me

I went to the Prophet

He wouldn’t see me

.

God wouldn’t just touch me

He wouldn’t just set me free

He commanded I act

I wash myself in Him

Not once

Not twice

Seven times in that river

I was angry

I wanted healing right now

But my loved ones encouraged me

I made the plunge

And in so doing I was set free

I can feel again

My eyes were opened

.

I went to the Prophet

He refused to be paid

So I asked for some dirt

And forgiveness

.

The Place of Freedom

I have found it

It is not in the feeling of my flesh

It is not in instantaneous fluttering of the heart

It is in the commitment

The obedience

The kneeling down

To God

To whom do you kneel in worship?

That is who you are a slave to

Be it entertainment

Money

Sex

Be it family

Friends

Self

You become what you worship

And it consumes your everyday

.

Do you need healing?

Commit to the Lord

And be cleansed

~

3Our God is in heaven;

he does whatever pleases him.

4But their idols are silver and gold,

made by human hands.

5They have mouths, but cannot speak,

eyes, but cannot see.

6They have ears, but cannot hear,

noses, but cannot smell.

7They have hands, but cannot feel,

feet, but cannot walk,

nor can they utter a sound with their throats.

8Those who make them will be like them,

and so will all who trust in them.

9All you Israelites, trust in the Lord

he is their help and shield.

10House of Aaron, trust in the Lord

he is their help and shield.

11You who fear him, trust in the Lord

he is their help and shield.” ~Psalm 115

“4And so John the Baptist appeared in the wilderness, preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins. 5The whole Judean countryside and all the people of Jerusalem went out to him. Confessing their sins, they were baptized by him in the Jordan River. 6John wore clothing made of camel’s hair, with a leather belt around his waist, and he ate locusts and wild honey. 7And this was his message: “After me comes the one more powerful than I, the straps of whose sandals I am not worthy to stoop down and untie. 8I baptize you withe water, but he will baptize you withf the Holy Spirit.” ~Mark 1

Leave a Reply

