Sermon on the Mount: Children of God

9Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.” ~Matthew 5

There are those who are ‘good’

And those who are ‘bad’

I want to hurt you

When you hurt me too

But I am to be a peacemaker

So I’ll do nothing

Only hate you in my heart

That’s good enough

To be God’s child

.

44“But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven; for He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.” ~Matthew 5

But it is not so

To love outwardly

And hate inwardly

I am to pray for you

You who hurts me

God is merciful to the ‘good’

And merciful to the ‘bad’

So am I to do so

Show compassion

As is fitting for His child

But I don’t have to be involved in their lives

He at least doesn’t call me to that

.

35“But love your enemies, and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High; for He Himself is kind to ungrateful and evil men. 36“Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.” ~Luke 6

But I am to do good to them

Give to them unselfishly

And thus am I to be involved in their lives

To do so is to show I am God’s own

For He was merciful to me

The ‘good’

When I was yet bad

Ungrateful like the rest of them

He was kind to me a sinner

And He is kind to them

He calls me to be involved

And to have mercy

Why, Lord?

Because He has called me to be

As He is

My Father

“…22b to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” ~Ephesians 4

And He has provided all I need

By His Spirit

Which gives us wisdom form above

“17But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering, without hypocrisy. 18And the seed whose fruit is righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.” ~James 3

2 thoughts on “Sermon on the Mount: Children of God

    1. Nope, it sure doesn’t. God treats everyone with mercy, and so should we– although it can be very difficult. God bless your week!

Leave a Reply

