Food For Thought: Let it be

“Some of the wise will stumble, so that they may be refined, purified and made spotless until the time of the end, for it will still come at the appointed time.” ~Daniel 11:35

I woke up this morning still feeling groggy.  All I could think about was getting some things done that I knew should get done.  And so I walked downstairs, trying to wake up enough to start doing them.

That’s when I encountered a family member, equally as determined to get things done, and so focused was he that he was getting flustered by anything hindering him.

His inward annoyance started rubbing off on me and so I didn’t want to be faced with him anymore.  I decided to just take a shower while he was off doing something.

Turns out he wanted the bathroom first.

As I hurried taking my shower, I felt angry thoughts flying through my head, convincing myself that he was being ridiculous and unfair.  I got out within five minutes, irritable.  I made my way upstairs– and then I let myself go in a torrent of tears, sick of the heavy burden anger had laid on me.  I knew I was being selfish, that I shouldn’t be placing blame on him.  I knew it was all just a big misunderstanding.  I read Daniel 11 at random, and the above passage really stuck out to me.  The appointed time will happen.  It reminded me that God has an agenda.  That He means all things for the good of those who love Him.

My sister later came to make sure I was alright.  She said that he was in a better mood now and I should try to keep him that way, not be mad at him anymore.  And what was my first thought? No one tried to keep me in a good mood.  I instantly regretted the selfish thought.

The truth of the matter is, things sometimes happen.  Sometimes two people’s plans collide, butting heads instead of uplifting each other.  Sometimes the sky is gloomy outside instead of blue.  Sometimes it’s too hot or too cold.  Sometimes you realize just how ugly the world is that you live in.

The real question is, are you going to blame others or circumstances for your negative mood?  Or are you going to say, “Despite this I’m not going to be mad.”  Are you going to go at it alone in self pity, or are you going to dive in holding the hand of family, friends, and God?  Are you going to go out in selfishness and hatred, or love and mercy?

In the end all we can really say is, “God, let Your will be done.  Let it be.”  Because even if we don’t, it’ll happen anyway.

~

“13for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.” ~Philippians 2

“6For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.  7He holds success in store for the upright, he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless, 8for he guards the course of the just and protects the way of his faithful ones.  9Then you will understand what is right and just and fair—every good path.  10For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul.  11Discretion will protect you, and understanding will guard you.” ~Proverbs 2

“5Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; 6in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” ~Proverbs 3

“A man’s heart plans his way, but the LORD determines his steps.” ~Proverbs 16:9

2 thoughts on “Food For Thought: Let it be

  1. Loved you words this morning. Aren’t we glad when God calls us up short and we realize our words, thoughts or crions are wrong?

    1. Well, we aren’t necessarily glad when it happens, but it is certainly “for our good” that it does (Romans 8:28) and in the long run we learn to enjoy God more and draw nearer together as a family. Thank you for your thoughts! God bless!

Leave a Reply

