Sermon on the Mount: Reconciliation

21“You have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘You shall not murder, and anyone who murders will be subject to judgment.’ 22But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca,’ is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell. 23Therefore, if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother or sister has something against you, 24leave your gift there in front of the altar. First go and be reconciled to them; then come and offer your gift.

25“Settle matters quickly with your adversary who is taking you to court. Do it while you are still together on the way, or your adversary may hand you over to the judge, and the judge may hand you over to the officer, and you may be thrown into prison. 26Truly I tell you, you will not get out until you have paid the last penny.” ~Matthew 5

The anger it burns

Like a wild fire in me

I just get so angry

When faced by certain things

And when you do them

I just want to hurt you back

Over and over it happens

Like a knife stab

In the back

.

And here is my Savior

Telling me I’m murdering you

I, who’ve never committed the sin,

Am no better

And have committed it

Over and over

I judge you

As if I were above the Law

I judge you

When God has forgiven

So much

And here am I

Saying you’ve done too much

You don’t deserve any of my love—

And yet what if that were to be

God’s words to me?

.

Oh Lord

I want to worship You

But this is heavy on my heart

I leave my offering at Your feet

I go to my brother

And say “Forgive me.”

I go to my sister

And say “I forgive you.”

For that is an offering

Pleasing to You

For that is the only thing

I owe the world

To love

As You loved me

.

World be reconciled

To the Lord

Family be reconciled

To one another

Do not sin

Do not murder

In your anger

Turn, repent,

Forgive

~

Ephesians 4:32 “Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”

Hebrews 12:14 “Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord.”

Luke 17 “If your brother or sistera sins against you, rebuke them; and if they repent, forgive them. 4Even if they sin against you seven times in a day and seven times come back to you saying ‘I repent,’ you must forgive them.”

1 Peter 4:8 “Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins.”

Colossians 3:13 “Bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.”

Luke 6:27-42 “But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you. To one who strikes you on the cheek, offer the other also, and from one who takes away your cloak do not withhold your tunic either. Give to everyone who begs from you, and from one who takes away your goods do not demand them back. And as you wish that others would do to you, do so to them.”

James 4 “11Brothers and sisters, do not slander one another. Anyone who speaks against a brother or sister or judges them speaks against the law and judges it. When you judge the law, you are not keeping it, but sitting in judgment on it. 12There is only one Lawgiver and Judge, the one who is able to save and destroy. But you—who are you to judge your neighbor?”

Ephesians 4 26“In your anger do not sin Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, 27and do not give the devil a foothold.”

Leave a Reply

