Sermon on the Mount: Show Mercy

38“You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’ 39But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. 40And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well. 41If anyone forces you to go one mile, go with them two miles. 42Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.” ~Matthew 5

I deserve so much

So much pain and fear

I sent it on

To terrorize here

I saw the pain in your eyes

When I accused, when I lied

I saw the fear shaking you

When I threatened to

Ruin you

.

I deserve no mercy

I deserve nothing really

I deserve no harmony

I deserve punishment fully

.

I’ve tried to

Justify my wicked acts

I remember when you

Hurt me over and over again

I felt like I was slapped on the cheek

I wanted to bite that hand

I remember when I was accused falsely

Made to repay what wasn’t my wrong

I had to give what didn’t belong

To you

.

You deserved no mercy

You deserved nothing really

You deserved no harmony

You deserved punishment fully

.

Perhaps all of this is true

Perhaps punishment is due

But in the end does revenge

Accomplish anything really?

In the end

What do we have left?

Is it better

To suffer for being

Wicked or good?

Is it better

To show you

Mercy or justice?

Is it better

To act now or wait for

The Righteous One

To act later?

Because truly

.

We deserve no mercy

He owes us nothing really

We deserve no harmony

He owes us punishment fully

.

But the Lord

He doesn’t want to give

That punishment

He will give it even so

For He is Holy

But He offers mercy

Forgiveness

To the one who repents right now

And turns from wickedness fully

And I hope I have done so

And will continue to hold on

To His mercy seat

And that means I owe

I must do this

Show you love

Show it no matter what

And I hope you will forgive me

When I fail

For

.

He has shown mercy

He has given everything really

He has shown harmony

He has forgiven fully

~

“14For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” ~Matthew 6

“Do not say, “I’ll pay you back for this wrong!” Wait for the LORD, and he will avenge you.” ~Proverbs 20:22

“19For it is commendable if someone bears up under the pain of unjust suffering because they are conscious of God. 20But how is it to your credit if you receive a beating for doing wrong and endure it? But if you suffer for doing good and you endure it, this is commendable before God. 21To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps.

22’He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth.’

23When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly. 24“He himself bore our sins” in his body on the cross, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; “by his wounds you have been healed.” 25For “you were like sheep going astray,” but now you have returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.” ~1 Peter 2

“29Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” ~Ephesians 4

“28Do not testify against your neighbor without cause— would you use your lips to mislead? 29Do not say, “I’ll do to them as they have done to me; I’ll pay them back for what they did.” ~Proverbs 24

Leave a Reply

