Sermon on the Mount: Prayer in Secret

5“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. 6But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” ~Matthew 6

Prayer,

Righteous one,

Pray for me

Pray that

The Son

Might be gracious

To me

And I’ll run

To His Place

And I’ll fall

On my face

Oh pray,

Righteous one

For me.

.

Prayer,

Righteous one,

I know your prayer

Is the only one

The LORD on high

Will listen to

For you’re too good

To be ignored

You are too good

For this world,

Oh righteous one

Pray for me.

As you stand there

In the wide open place

Pray for me.

.

Thank God that

I don’t have to be

Known as

The ‘righteous one’

To be heard by Him

Thank God that

I can stay

Right here

And He’ll know

What I say

I know I’m not

Good in any way

I never was til

He entered me

And I cry out now

And say “Forgive me!”

He’s forgiven me.

He has forgiven me.

.

So I’ll hide in my closet;

Righteous one on the street.

My reward is in Heaven;

Righteous one, yours you’ve already found.

I’ll praise the LORD;

Righteous one you’re so adored!

And I’ll be forgiven ever more;

Oh righteous one, what is it all for?

.

The LORD weighed them

On His scales

The tax collector

And the Pharisee,

The sinner

And the righteous one.

The LORD heard their prayers

He weighed them in His hands

He dropped the righteous one

For there was no righteousness to be had.

He lifted up

And washed clean in love

The sinner,

Tax collector,

For this one had made Him glad

There was righteousness to be had.

.

So pray in secret.

So pray to the LORD.

So pray for forgiveness.

Pray in humbleness.

Pray to the Righteous One,

Jesus Christ His Son

For there is no one righteous,

No not one,

Without the Son.

So pray.

“2All the ways of a man are pure in his own eyes, but the Lord weighs the spirit.” ~Proverbs 16

“9To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everyone else, Jesus told this parable: 10“Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. 11The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other people—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector. 12I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’

13“But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’

14“I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” ~Luke 18

“…12those who are pure in their own eyes and yet are not cleansed of their filth; 13those whose eyes are ever so haughty, whose glances are so disdainful…” ~Proverbs 30

“15To the pure, all things are pure, but to the defiled and unbelieving, nothing is pure; but both their minds and their consciences are defiled. 16They profess to know God, but they deny him by their works. They are detestable, disobedient, unfit for any good work.” ~Titus 1

Leave a Reply

