Sermon on the Mount: Forgiveness

9“This, then, is how you should pray:

“ ‘Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, 10your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. 11Give us today our daily bread. 12And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. 13And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.’ 14For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” ~Matthew 6

My Father

Who is in Heaven

May Your Name be

Forever Holy

Come ever closer

His mighty kingdom

Your will be done

Here on earth

As it is in Heaven

And You give to us

All we ever need

You provide for us

Forever

Oh my Father

Thank You for ever

Forgiving me

I need it desperately

.

Forgiving me

I need it desperately

And all the more as I

See the Day approaching

Please provide me

The love and humbleness

To forgive everyone around

Who hurt me.

I was disrespected

I disrespect You.

I was ignored

I ignored You.

I was yelled at

I get angry at You.

I was mistreated

I trample You.

And here I am

Begging forgiveness.

And here they are

Perhaps not doing so.

But You forgive me

Even when I don’t ask.

And so I forgive them

Because You call me to love.

.

“Forgive them”

Cried my Lord Jesus

“For they know not what they do.”

Didn’t they know

They were murdering a man

Who’d done no wrong?

And yet the Lord forgave them

Gave them every chance of repentance

Of knowing the truth

Some I know repented—

Saul on the way to persecute—

Some never would repent

And continued to kill the elect

But still we’re called to forgive

Even as our Lord forgives

So I ask God to forgive me

I ask Him to help me

To forgive

Please forgive

~

9“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. 12My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.” ~John 15

“32Two other men, both criminals, were also led out with him to be executed. 33When they came to the place called the Skull, they crucified him there, along with the criminals—one on his right, the other on his left. 34Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” And they divided up his clothes by casting lots.” ~Luke 23

“57At this they covered their ears and, yelling at the top of their voices, they all rushed at him, 58dragged him out of the city and began to stone him. Meanwhile, the witnesses laid their coats at the feet of a young man named Saul. 59While they were stoning him, Stephen prayed, “Lord Jesus, receive my spirit.” 60Then he fell on his knees and cried out, “Lord, do not hold this sin against them.” When he had said this, he fell asleep.” ~Acts 7

‘1Meanwhile, Saul was still breathing out murderous threats against the Lord’s disciples… 3As he neared Damascus on his journey, suddenly a light from heaven flashed around him. 4He fell to the ground and heard a voice say to him, “Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?”

5“Who are you, Lord?” Saul asked.

“I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting,” he replied. 6“Now get up and go into the city, and you will be told what you must do.”

7The men traveling with Saul stood there speechless; they heard the sound but did not see anyone. 8Saul got up from the ground, but when he opened his eyes he could see nothing. So they led him by the hand into Damascus. 9For three days he was blind, and did not eat or drink anything.

10In Damascus there was a disciple named Ananias. The Lord called to him in a vision, “Ananias!”

“Yes, Lord,” he answered.

11The Lord told him, “Go to the house of Judas on Straight Street and ask for a man from Tarsus named Saul, for he is praying. 12In a vision he has seen a man named Ananias come and place his hands on him to restore his sight.”

13“Lord,” Ananias answered, “I have heard many reports about this man and all the harm he has done to your holy people in Jerusalem. 14And he has come here with authority from the chief priests to arrest all who call on your name.”

15But the Lord said to Ananias, “Go! This man is my chosen instrument to proclaim my name to the Gentiles and their kings and to the people of Israel. 16I will show him how much he must suffer for my name.”

17Then Ananias went to the house and entered it. Placing his hands on Saul, he said, “Brother Saul, the Lord—Jesus, who appeared to you on the road as you were coming here—has sent me so that you may see again and be filled with the Holy Spirit.” 18Immediately, something like scales fell from Saul’s eyes, and he could see again. He got up and was baptized, 19and after taking some food, he regained his strength.’ ~Acts 9

Leave a Reply

