Sermon on the Mount: Store Up Treasure

“19“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” ~Matthew 6

In this humble home

Built with my hands

I kept all the belongings

I ever wanted

I ever loved

And as I watched them

Sitting in their places

They started to melt away

Age made them droop

Time made them falter

Dust covered them over

In a veil of forgetfulness

What is the need?

Where is the love?

I’ve surrounded myself with emptiness

When I should have been looking

In Heaven above

.

In this humble home

Built with my hands

I kept all the belongings

I ever wanted

I ever loved

I did all I could

To keep them protected

If only I’d known

The thief’s plan to come!

Now he has made off with them

Now I have lost it all

And it seems so useless,

So pointless,

That I sought those things

To feel love

When I should have been searching

In Heaven above

.

In Heaven above

Where the LORD sits

Enthroned in mystery and glory

In His hand is the treasure

Of wisdom and knowledge

Of salvation

Oh, to love Him!

To fear Him above all else!

That is the satisfaction of my soul

To one day see His face

To know Him fully

And long for Him deeply

His Spirit no longer weeping in me

And His Son unashamed of me

He is my only master

That is the treasure I seek

Stored up in Heaven

By the hand of God

~

“72The law from your mouth is more precious to me than thousands of pieces of silver and gold.” ~Psalm 119

“43But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into.” ~Matthew 24

“5The Lord is exalted, for he dwells on high; he will fill Zion with his justice and righteousness. 6He will be the sure foundation for your times, a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge; the fear of the Lord is the key to this treasure.” ~Isaiah 33

1“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God ; believe also in me. 2My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.” ~John 14

“30And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” ~Ephesians 4

Leave a Reply

