Sermon on the Mount: Two Masters

24“No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.” ~Matthew 6

What good

Can it do

To gather up

Gold and jewels

All around me?

Diamonds is said

To be a girl’s best friend

But what good could it

Ever do me?

Can it purify my heart?

Can it listen when I pray?

Can it speak back

When I am lost

And afraid?

No indeed

No

No

.

I offer up

This gold cup

To my God

I offer up

I offer it up

To my King

He knows what is best

He gave it to me

To use properly

So help me God

Use it to Your

Glory

.

No one could ever

Glorify God

And gratify flesh

No one could ever

Be friends with God

And friends with the world

To be in love

With Christ

Is to sacrifice myself

To be in love

With the world

Is to lift up

Myself

Is to make me

The only

Important thing

Seems like

There’s a contradiction here

There can’t be two

Two masters I worship

.

I offer up

To the LORD

Myself

As a living sacrifice

I offer up

To the LORD

Myself

All my desires

He’s given them to me

To use wisely

So help me God

Use them

To Your

Glory

~

“16So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. 17For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other, so that you are not to do whateverc you want. 18But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.” ~Galatians 5

“1Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. 2Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” ~Romans 12

Romans 6:20

“When you were slaves to sin, you were free from the control of righteousness.”

Galatians 1:10

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

James 4:4

“You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world means enmity against God? Therefore, anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God.”

1 Kings 18:21

‘Elijah went before the people and said, “How long will you waver between two opinions? If the LORD is God, follow him; but if Baal is God, follow him.” But the people said nothing.’

2 Kings 17:41

“Even while these people were worshiping the LORD, they were serving their idols. To this day their children and grandchildren continue to do as their ancestors did.”

Luke 16:9-12

“9I tell you, use worldly wealth to gain friends for yourselves, so that when it is gone, you will be welcomed into eternal dwellings. 10Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much. 11So if you have not been trustworthy in handling worldly wealth, who will trust you with true riches? 12And if you have not been trustworthy with someone else’s property, who will give you property of your own?”

Leave a Reply

