Food for Thought: God Created

I’ve been reading slowly and comprehensively Genesis 1 ever since I got back from Urbana. While there, they taught us how to do an Inductive Bible study. First you read the passage and make observations, even the most simple. Then you ask about things that are confusing to you, and then you end with these two things: “What does this passage tell me about God?” and “How do I apply this to myself?” I was already familiar with this method of learning because my youth leader did this in Sunday School/Youth Group, but I felt compelled to do this more in my individual bible study time. I thought perhaps that I was moving through the first chapter much too slow, that each point of creation has the same message to tell, but I’m glad I am taking my time. Even if it is the same message essentially, it is good to be reminded over and over about who God is and what that means for me.

Today I read about Him creating the lights in the sky. “And God said, ‘Let there be lights in the vault of the sky to separate the day from the night, and let them serve as signs to mark sacred times, and days and years, and let them be lights in the vault of the sky to give light on the earth.’ And it was so. God made two great lights—the greater light to govern the day and the lesser light to govern the night. He also made the stars. God set them in the vault of the sky to give light on the earth, to govern the day and the night and to separate light from darkness. And God saw that it was good. And there was evening and there was morning—the fourth day.” ~Genesis 1:14-19.

First I observed that the subject of the passage is light. He wants to make more light as a distinction between day and night, light and darkness. Something else I noticed was that part of their purpose was to be signs of sacred times; this was before the fall, so what were these sacred times? It seems to me that in forming the stars He already had the fall in mind. Also, these lights weren’t really needed before this; He had made day and night without the moon and sun, He had separated the land and the sea, and planted the vegetation on the earth. It seems to me that His purpose in putting them there was to create even more light.

All of this tells me a few things about God. 1. He is all knowing. 2. He is purposeful in His creating; nothing is done willy nilly or foolishly. And 3. God loves light more than darkness. He didn’t have to put lights in the night and it still would have been dark, still would have been night. But He didn’t desire that.

What does this tell me to apply to myself? First of all I can trust God to be God. He is the creator, He has a good and perfect plan, and so I can trust Him with all things. Secondly, I should be purposeful in the work of my hands, whether it be when I’m at work or when I am creating a document. I want people to read whatever I write and know there was a purpose behind it. And thirdly, I should desire the light more than the darkness; to put it plainly, I should choose the Spirit over my fleshly desires. God wants me to be a light in a dark world, He wants it for all His children. He doesn’t need us, but He wants us.

I hope you can say that you trust God. I hope that you are purposeful in whatever you do. I hope that you are choosing the Spirit, the Light, rather than the flesh and the world, the Darkness.

Have a blessed week!

~

14“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” ~Matthew 5

“31So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. ” ~1 Corinthians 10

“16For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. 18Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son. 19This is the verdict: Light has come into the world, but people loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil. 20Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that their deeds will be exposed. 21But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what they have done has been done in the sight of God.” ~John 3

Leave a Reply

