Sermon on the Mount: Wisdom

“6Do not give dogs what is sacred; do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they may trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you to pieces.” ~Matthew 7

You who are wise

Lift up my head

You who see clearly

Speak out

From your discipline

I will find the straight way

Rebuke me now, I pray

So I may see your wisdom

In the day

.

Precious

Holy

Are the pearls

You give me

.

If I see the foolish man

Let me not speak as he does

If I see the foolish man

Let me not do as he does

Foolishness is an epidemic

Let it flee

From me

.

“Do not answer a fool according to his folly, or you yourself will be just like him.”

.

If I am faced

With the foolish

Should I speak the truth?

Will he hear

The words I am speaking?

Or will he tear me down

Down?

Will he tear me down?

.

“Do not rebuke mockers or they will hate you; rebuke the wise and they will love you.”

“Do not speak to fools, for they will scorn your prudent words.”

.

If I am shown

The foolish within me

I will consider you as sacred

If I am shown

The foolish within me

I will consider it as fine gold

.

“Like an earring of gold or an ornament of fine gold is the rebuke of a wise judge to a listening ear.”

“Let a righteous man strike me—that is a kindness; let him rebuke me—that is oil on my head. My head will not refuse it, for my prayer will still be against the deeds of evildoers.”

.

If I find the foolish within me

May I consider your ways

If I find the foolish within me

May I love your words

Transform me

Correct me

From wisdom’s tree

I will feed

.

“Blessed are those who find wisdom, those who gain understanding, for she is more profitable than silver and yields better returns than gold.

She is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare with her.

Long life is in her right hand; in her left hand are riches and honor.

Her ways are pleasant ways, and all her paths are peace.

She is a tree of life to those who take hold of her; those who hold her fast will be blessed.”

~

(Verses in order as seen)

Proverbs 26:4

Proverbs 9:8

Proverbs 23:9

Proverbs 25:12

Psalm 141:5

Proverbs 3:13-18

Also gained help from: http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/matthew/7.html

One thought on “Sermon on the Mount: Wisdom

Leave a Reply

