Music: Dusty Rock

“Instead, be filled with the Spirit, 19speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit. Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord, 20always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.” ~ Ephesians 5

“1Sing to the Lord a new song; sing to the Lord, all the earth.  2Sing to the Lord, praise his name; proclaim his salvation day after day.  3Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous deeds among all peoples.” ~Psalm 96

I was driving home from work, feeling tired but also pretty content, glad to have my music for company. As I listened and sang, as is normal, I wished that I could share the music I listen to with other people, especially people who have never heard these artists. And, as is normal, my mind started coming up with different ways to do this, but I rarely act upon these plans because, hey, who really cares what I listen to? Sure, it encourages me, but most people who do hear my music can’t get past how different it sounds to them.

On this evening, as my mind tried to come up with a plan again, I remembered what a coworker had said to me just that week: “You must have lived under a rock!” or something of that nature. He’d said it because a song had come on the radio as we were cleaning and I didn’t know who the artist was, or the song for that matter. Honestly, I probably did live a sheltered life compared to most people, at least in regards to music. My family never listened to the radio; it was either styles we didn’t like or it all sounded the same. So instead I grew up listening to music that mom and dad listened to, and I had no idea what was ‘popular’ or what wasn’t, and I didn’t really care. There was Steve Taylor, Newsboys (with Peter Furler), Larry Norman, Bride, dc talk, The Choir, The Lost Dogs, Swirling Eddies, Caedmon’s Call, Switchfoot, Plumb, the 77’s, Adam Again, The W’s, Third Day, Margret Becker, and Charlie Peacock just to name a few. Some of these you’ve probably heard of, some are long gone, and others perhaps are new to you.

Anyway, being accused of living under a rock because of music didn’t bother me. In fact it made me a little proud, and it inspired me. It made me ask the question, “What does it sound like living under a rock?” or at least my rock. And the first song that came into my head that matched that question is Larry Norman’s ‘Rock that Doesn’t Roll’. Yeah, I know, pretty dusty under this rock.

That song is energetic and should be encouraging to any Christian—Christ is our solid rock that will stay with us forever, forever unchanging!

So yes, I live under a rock. But my music is largely what made me who I am today and, no matter how old or strange, God is constantly encouraging me or reprimanding me through it all the time. I wanted to share two more songs with you, both of which are encouraging to me. The first is by The Choir, one of their newer songs that encourages me that I am never alone, we are never alone, even in the darkest or most despairing of places. And then the last song is Caedmon’s Call ‘Hope to Carry On’. I hope both encourage your heart today!

So what songs are a part of your life that encourage you?

Leave a Reply

