Sermon on the Mount: Rock and Sand

This is the end of the Sermon on the Mount series.  It has been very long but very enjoyable to go through, and I hope you were encouraged and learned a lot through it as I was.  If you have any suggestions about what I should write about next, either a passage, book, or topic, please feel free to comment below.  In any case, thanks for going the journey with me and I hope you’ll continue to join me as I meditate on the treasures of God’s word!

24“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.” ~Matthew 7

I heard the words

I heard Your voice

I listened and I

Knelt down to pray

Today

Is a new day

Will I follow

All You have to say?

.

Built up

And the wind did blow

Built up

And the water did rise

.

I feel pride

It protects me on the outside

I feel like

I need to tear you down

In my anger

‘You deserve so much better’

The world tells me

Follow after

Clothes, food, enjoyment of life

And I feel so anxious all the time

But I

.

I heard the words

I heard Your voice

I listened and I

Knelt down to pray

Today

Is a new day

Will I follow

All You have to say?

.

Built up

And the wind did blow

Built up

And the water did rise

.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,

Neither are your ways my ways,”

Declares the LORD

For the foolishness of God is

Wiser than man’s wisdom,

And the weakness of God is

Stronger than man’s strength

On what shall I build on?

Sand or the rock?

.

Need I protect myself with pride?

Should I clothe myself in humility?

Whom do I serve?

Man or God?

.

Built up on the sand

The wind did blow it over

Built up on the rock

The water did rise up

And did no damage

It’s the same storm

With two different results

It’s the same storm

.

I heard the words

I heard Your voice

I listened and I

Knelt down to pray

Today

Is a new day

Will I follow

All You have to say?

~

(Isaiah 55:8)

(1 Corinthians 1:25)

 

Proverbs 10:8

The wise in heart accept commands, but a chattering fool comes to ruin.

Proverbs 10:25

When the storm has swept by, the wicked are gone, but the righteous stand firm forever.

Proverbs 12:7

The wicked are overthrown and are no more, but the house of the righteous stands firm.

John 13:17

Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.

Romans 2:13

For it is not those who hear the law who are righteous in God’s sight, but it is those who obey the law who will be declared righteous.

James 1:22

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.

Leave a Reply

