Meditation: Adopted Into Life

1“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. 2My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4You know the way to the place where I am going.”

5Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

6Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. 7If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.” ~John 14

There are days that I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing with my life or where I’m supposed to go, days of feeling like it’s just me and the world and no one is around to help me get to my goal—and I’m not even sure what my goal is.

But the bible is full of verses that talk about perseverance and keeping our eyes set on the prize, keeping our minds on Heaven. Even Jesus Himself told His disciples this. Our belief in Him is our confidence that He has prepared a place for us, a place with no tears, pain, uncertainty and most of all no sin, a place that we can live with Him for all eternity. It is because of our relationship with Jesus that we have this glorious inheritance, for we are now adopted into the Holy Family!

“1Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. 2Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. 3For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. 4When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.

5Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. 6Because of these, the wrath of God is coming.” ~Colossians 3

From this passage it seems clear that not only are we to know Christ but we are to even find our very identity in Him. He died, therefore we died. He was raised, we are raised. He will be glorified, we will be glorified. He is supposed to permeate our entire life—He IS our entire lives! And it is because of this we are supposed to put our focus on the place where He is, in Heaven.

Because we died with Him we are to constantly be putting to death our sinful desires. Where our entire lives are focused on our Savior, His entire life is focused on glorifying the Father, and therefore so is ours. And being obedient to Him in every way honors the Father, the Son, and therefore also the Holy Spirit. And why do we care about what they think? Because He is our life! God gave us eternal life and will give it to us at the end of all things!

I hope very much that you are encouraged today to think on Heaven with me. How awesome it is that God lay down His life that we might be adopted into such a glorious inheritance, to join Him in Holiness!

Leave a Reply

