Proverbs: Spirit of Wisdom

1Listen, my sons, to a father’s instruction; pay attention and gain understanding. 2I give you sound learning, so do not forsake my teaching. 3For I too was a son to my father, still tender, and cherished by my mother. 4Then he taught me, and he said to me, “Take hold of my words with all your heart; keep my commands, and you will live. 5Get wisdom, get understanding; do not forget my words or turn away from them. 6Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you; love her, and she will watch over you. 7The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. 8Cherish her, and she will exalt you; embrace her, and she will honor you. 9She will give you a garland to grace your head and present you with a glorious crown.”~Proverbs 4

It is not enough

To merely hear it

It is not enough

To merely listen

Take hold of the words

Make them actions

Take hold of it

Make it yours

.

Wisdom’s ways

Are just around the corner

Understanding

In the pages I read

And I wander

All the time

Forgetting to drink from

Still waters

.

I cry out

“LORD please!

In Your infinite wisdom

Grant it to me.”

“Oh, Jesus!

Have mercy on me!

In Your Great Love

Water me.”

And His Spirit of Truth

His Spirit of Love

His Spirit of Wisdom

Washes over me

.

To those who obey

The Word of the Father

Wisdom will be granted

To those who remain

In His Love

Assurance of faith is rewarded

‘Keep My commands

Love one another’

Is not so scary a prospect

And the Spirit is there

To help

.

We reap what we sow

So let it be love

And wisdom will come too

Only ask

~

Psalm 119:168

I keep Your precepts and Your testimonies, For all my ways are before You.

Luke 11:

11“Which of you fathers, if your son asks forf a fish, will give him a snake instead? 12Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? 13If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

John 15:

9“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. 12My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14You are my friends if you do what I command.”

James 1:

22Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. 23Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror 24and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.

Galatians 6:

8Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. 9Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. 10Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

2 thoughts on “Proverbs: Spirit of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

