Proverbs: Wisdom, yes, Wisdom!

“1Listen, my sons, to a father’s instruction; pay attention and gain understanding. 2I give you sound learning, so do not forsake my teaching. 3For I too was a son to my father, still tender, and cherished by my mother. 4Then he taught me, and he said to me, “Take hold of my words with all your heart; keep my commands, and you will live. 5Get wisdom, get understanding; do not forget my words or turn away from them. 6Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you; love her, and she will watch over you. 7The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. 8Cherish her, and she will exalt you; embrace her, and she will honor you. 9She will give you a garland to grace your head and present you with a glorious crown.”~Proverbs 4

Wisdom, the Spirit in me

Given by the Lord far above me

Wisdom, the majesty of my King

Clothing me in glory

.

Wisdom, yes, Wisdom!

I must have her now

Adopt her as my mother

Keep her as my prize

Wisdom, yes, Wisdom!

Who shows me the Way of the King

She is not mine to hide

But I am hers to display

.

Wisdom, the Light of Heaven and Earth

That does not shrink from the truth

Wisdom, the Door to understanding

By which we enter into Paradise

.

Wisdom, yes, Wisdom!

She tells me of the coming glory

And urges me to endure to the end

Wisdom, yes, Wisdom!

She reminds me of the price of sin

And assures me of the Lord’s faithful grace

Wisdom, yes, Wisdom!

She’s waiting for me at the wedding feast

And there will present it to me,

The Glory Crown.

.

And on that day that I receive her gift

I will cast it down at my Lord’s feet

My King whom I serve

My Husband who I praise

Whose path I follow today

It’s Wisdom’s Way

~

“11For who knows a person’s thoughts except their own spirit within them? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. 12What we have received is not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may understand what God has freely given us. 13This is what we speak, not in words taught us by human wisdom but in words taught by the Spirit, explaining spiritual realities with Spirit-taught words. 14The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit.” ~1 Corinthians 2

14“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” ~Matthew 5

“22What if God, although choosing to show his wrath and make his power known, bore with great patience the objects of his wrath—prepared for destruction? 23What if he did this to make the riches of his glory known to the objects of his mercy, whom he prepared in advance for glory— 24even us, whom he also called, not only from the Jews but also from the Gentiles? 25As he says in Hosea: “I will call them ‘my people’ who are not my people; and I will call her ‘my loved one’ who is not my loved one,” 26and, “In the very place where it was said to them, ‘You are not my people,’ there they will be called ‘children of the living God.’ ” ~Romans 9

“9Whenever the living creatures give glory, honor and thanks to him who sits on the throne and who lives forever and ever, 10the twenty-four elders fall down before him who sits on the throne and worship him who lives forever and ever. They lay their crowns before the throne and say: 11“You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they were created and have their being.” ~Revelation 4

“6Then I heard what sounded like a great multitude, like the roar of rushing waters and like loud peals of thunder, shouting: “Hallelujah! For our Lord God Almighty reigns. 7Let us rejoice and be glad and give him glory! For the wedding of the Lamb has come, and his bride has made herself ready. 8Fine linen, bright and clean, was given her to wear.” (Fine linen stands for the righteous acts of God’s holy people.) 9Then the angel said to me, “Write this: Blessed are those who are invited to the wedding supper of the Lamb!” And he added, “These are the true words of God.” ~Revelation 19

Leave a Reply

